

The Essential Air Service Program in Alaska

The Airline Deregulation Act, passed in 1978, gave airlines almost total freedom to determine which markets to serve domestically and what fares to charge for that service. The Essential Air Service (EAS) program was put into place to guarantee that small communities that were served by certificated air carriers before deregulation maintain a minimal level of scheduled air service. The US DOT (United States Department of Transportation) administers the EAS program to ensure that smaller communities retain a link to the national air transportation system with a Federal subsidy where necessary.

There are currently 61 communities in Alaska that receive subsidized air service under the EAS program, and Little Diomede Island under the Air Transportation to Non-Eligible Places (ATNEP) program.

Alaskan communities receiving EAS subsidies set benchmarks for need and cost effectiveness in the program.

- Alaska Communities receiving EAS are the most remote and isolated in the nation.
- Of the 61 communities that receive subsidized air service, only 6 are connected to the road system.
- Of those 6, only McCarthy, does not have road maintenance in the winter months.
- Of the remaining 5, only one is on a paved road (Gulkana) and that one is over 210 miles from the nearest medium hub airport.
- The remaining 55 communities are completely isolated from the road system and rely on air travel as their primary means of transportation.
- Alaska communities receiving EAS subsidy far exceed the recommendations to qualify as remote communities.
- The average community subsidy in Alaska is \$426,447
- The average EAS subsidy for communities in the rest of the U.S. is \$3,270,196
- The average annual subsidy for the 55 non-jet serviced communities in Alaska is \$457,319
- Air travel in Alaska is not a convenience; it is a critical transportation mode that provides basic day to day necessities and access to health facilities.

Subsidized Essential Air Service Locator Index

Adak HH13	Lake Minchumina O5	Ugashik M8
Akhiok N8	Levelock M7	West Point O8
Akutan I9	Manley P4	Wrangell Y8
Alitak N8	May Creek T6	Yakutat V7
Amook Bay O8	McCarthy T6	Zachar Bay 08
Angoon X8	McGrath N5	
Atka II12	Metlakatla Z9	
Central S4	Minto Q4	
Chignik L8	Moser Bay N8	
Chignik Lake L8	Nikolski G10	
Chisana T5	Olga Bay N8	
Circle S4	Pelican W8	
Cordova S6	Perryville L9	
Diomede G4	Petersburg Y8	
Egegik M7	Pilot Point M8	
Ekwok M7	Port Alexander X8	
Elfin Cove W7	Port Bailey O8	
Excursion Inlet X7	Port Heiden L8	
False Pass J9	Port Williams O7	
Gulkana S5	Seal Bay O7	
Gustavus X7	Skwentna P6	
Healy Lake S5	South Naknek M7	
Hydaburg Y9	St. George G8	
Igiugig N7	St. Paul F8	
Kake Y8	Tatitlek R6	
Karluk N8	Tenakee X8	
King Cove J9	Twin Hills K7	
Kitoi Bay O7	Uganik O8	